The Road to a Healthier Me

I recently purchased some new running shoes and exercise clothes, so I’m ready to get moving. When you work sitting at a desk all day, 5 days a week, 40+ hours a week, it’s not exactly the healthiest way to spend your time, but when you need the cash, you do what needs to be done. Nonetheless, I’m trying to get into a routine where I can exercise after work on my treadmill. I’m not really into the gym scene. I’m shy and don’t do crowds. At all. That’s one panic attack I’d rather avoid. That and I’m klutzy and the furthest thing from coordinated.

Anyway, the point is that I’m trying to put together some playlists that will motivate me. Since I want to learn Korean, I want to stick to Korean music. I’m a major newbie when it comes to k-pop. I know a lot of the big acts and some of the songs they’re famous for, but that’s about it If it helps, I listen to FT Island a lot but that’s as far as my Korean journey has taken me.

That said, I’m working on a playlist with EXO songs. I’m not really into hip-hop and r&b, so my personal preference is to avoid music in those genres if I can. I can tolerate in small doses, but it’s not my cup of tea.

So, any suggestions? What k-pop acts make you want to get up and move? I’m trying to be really open-minded here, so I’m open to any and all suggestions.

2 thoughts on “The Road to a Healthier Me

  1. Hee, yes! CN Blue is like a companion group for me when listening to FT Island, and I also listen to a lot of Seventeen and Day6. Astro is new but quite good imo, and for girl groups… I like Mamamoo and IU. But IU isn’t super “workout” oriented. What kind of music do you like to work out to? Electronic? Rock?

    • Thank you for your suggestions! I always forget about CN Blue. Right now, I’ve been listening to FT Island and some indie and alt rock bands. Electronic and rock is fine. I also enjoy pop as well. As I said, hip hop/r&b isn’t the most appealing to me, but I’m fine if it’s part of a song but not the entire song if that makes sense. Basically, as long as it has a decent beat and isn’t a sad, slow song or a power ballad so to speak, I’m willing to try anything to work out to.

Leave a Reply

