Camp Nano, Lemons, and the Hong Sisters

When life gives you lemons, you —

Okay, I’ll shut my trap before I incite a bunch of random, overused proverbs. I will say that I’ve been pretty bummed with the new k-dramas lately. I went into details about that on my last post, and I promise I’m not going there today. Instead, I thought I’d spend a little time talking about dramas and real life.

I work full time for a logistics company. The past six months have been nothing short of a living hell due to circumstances beyond my control at work. It isn’t anything I’ve done wrong, but I’ve had to take on the mother load of responsibility out of nowhere. Thank goodness a sense of normalcy is returning to my work life or I was heading towards a mental and physical breakdown from the lack of sleep and the amount of stress I was going through. That in turn has made me crave lighter, fluffier dramas to help calm and relax me. Coming home to constant migraines and a defeatist attitude hasn’t been my finest hour, but I muddled through with the aid of some great dramas. I constantly thank the drama gods for giving me Shopping King Louis when it did because it aired at a time when I needed it most.

As I’m loving every minute of Strong Woman Do Boong Soon, it’s also tough to wait a week for new episodes. I’ve never been the most patient person, so that’s why I decided to backtrack and try out an older Hong Sisters drama — My Girlfriend is a Gumiho. I’m having so much fun with it because I covet all things the Hong Sisters pen. They may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but gosh darn it, their dramas make me happy and Gumiho has me excited like the first time I watched My Girl. I’m feeling so energized and happy. I’m already up to episode six and OMO… Lee Seung Gi and and Shin Min Ah are so damn cute together. I can’t even formulate words to explain just how cute they are.

(Couldn’t resist a gif of Nick when he was writing his Zombie novel on New Girl.) 😂😂😂

And that brings me to my last topic: Camp Nano. Yep, I’m a writer. (And I use the term ‘writer’ loosely as it’s been strictly a hobby since my early teen years. In the early 2000’s, I used to post a lot of a website called FictionPress.) Next to reading and k-dramas, writing is one of my favorite things to do. I haven’t done camp nano and regular nanowrimo in years, so I figured it was time to get myself back on the wagon again and write something with a little k-drama flair. K-drama tropes, here I come! Because, let’s face it, k-dramas really are my biggest inspiration these days and I’d be lost without them.

 

5 thoughts on “Camp Nano, Lemons, and the Hong Sisters

  1. First of all, Gumiho is one of my favorite dramas! They are such a unique couple!

    Secondly, yay for writing!!! You should write a K-Rom novel like we did. 😀 It was really fun to tie Kdramas into American romance. Like you, that’s the stuff we love most!

    • Gumiho is PERFECTION! I’m trying not to binge-watch it because I don’t ever want it to end.

      I’m seriously considering a k-rom novel. Hopefully camp nano gets me back into the swing of writing and writing well again. Your own k-rom efforts have really inspired me. The same goes for your blog. I’m so happy you found mine! 😀

Leave a Reply

