K-Drama: ‘Voice’ Episode 1 – 2 Overview

I am so sorry for being away for a short while again. Real life has been a bit complicated and work has been zapping away any of my creativity. So, I thought I’d talk a bit about the week and finally post my thoughts on the first two episodes of Voice. I’m all caught up now, but I didn’t want this to go to waste and sit in my drafts for months before trashing it. So, please enjoy!

That said, a quick review of my week.

I went to the optometrist and my vision sucks. It got worse by two steps. Since my job is starring at a computer screen and analyzing things, I’m not all that surprised. On a bright note, I did invest in a cute pair of glasses. I wear contacts full time and my optometrist suggested it would be a good idea to give my eyes a break at night. So, I conceded. Although, my bank account wasn’t very happy about it. Nonetheless, I will show you what my glasses look like when they’re ready to pick up. They are super cute! After that, it snowed pretty heavily that night. The next day, the plow trucks didn’t clear our roads until I had missed over half a day of work. Oh well. Safety first! Thank goodness for paid days off. I scrambled all day Friday trying to catch up with my work, but I never did. Of course, that’s just the nature of the beast. I’ll get back on track next week if I’m not overwhelmed with being given more projects that other people don’t want to do.

I’m feeling very burnt out, so I haven’t been posting as I didn’t want to post garbage. I also live with my ailing grandparents and help take care of them/help with the bills. It’s been a lot more stressful than usual the past few weeks, but it just wouldn’t be my life if things ever went smoothly. You just learn to adjust to the chaos. It certainly keeps life interesting — that’s for sure.

But one more bit of news before we get into Voice! I have Progressive auto insurance and I had a very successful six month run using snap shot (a device that tracks your driving habits). My insurance, at renewal, will be $96 cheaper. I liked my previous auto insurance company, but Progressive has been so good to me with a cheaper quote and opportunities to earn discounts that I’d never go back.

Sorry for the random, boring real life rant. Click on the link below to dive right into my thoughts on Voice.

 

Here I go again. I wasn’t going to start another drama, but it’s Jang Hyuk, and my curiosity got the best to me. What we have here is a deep psychologically thriller/crime k-drama. It’s not fluffy. It’s not sunshine and rainbows. Actually, it’s pretty dark and graphic as we’re dealing with people who are afflicted with deep, psychological disorders. Some of the content and crimes will make your blood run cold. It is not a drama to take lightly and it’s not easy to digest, but the story has managed to enrapture me. Also, what’s worth noting is that this drama adopts the “case of the week” format in the sense that our stories, crimes, and characters change. We do have a main, central story line happening as well.

If you’re a fan of deep psychological thrillers, you’ll find yourself both enraptured and horrified by Voice. Jang Hyuk does an amazing job transforming into Detective Moo Jin Hyuk, who is greatly struggling after losing his wife who was brutally bludgeoned to death while he was drinking with his buddies after successfully wrapping up a case. He’s angry at the world, particularly the 112 (Korean emergency number call center) caller who answered his wife’s emergency call; he’s fallen a long way from his days of being an ace detective and now he works as a local police officer who’s barely scraping by.

While put on the stand in court, Kang Kwon Joo boldly exclaims that the accused is not the murderer. She has an ability to hear things that the average person doesn’t, which doesn’t do her any favors; she claims she’s heard the murderer’s voice and that the accused isn’t that person. Moo Jin Hyuk is furious as this sudden declaration denies him closure on his dead wife.

After disappearing to the US and studying criminal profiling, specifically voice profiling, Kang Kwon Joo returns to Korea three years later and isn’t exactly welcomed by her colleagues with open arms. Sure, she’s done her homework and has worked tirelessly to hone her craft, but it’s not impressing anyone. She’s met with fierce opposition when she wants to put Golden Time into effect. All Kwon Joo wants to do is give these victims a chance at being able to live. And their survival depends on her ability to find out where the victim is located and get the police dispatched within the golden time, which is very critical. Time is of the essence and she works sincerely and relentlessly to preserve human life, which is one quality I hope Jin Hyuk learns to admire about her.

She, once again, finds herself entangled with Jin Hyuk, who works to help her save a woman from being brutally murdered and then dismembered. But Jin Hyuk doesn’t want to look at Kwon Joo — much less work with her. Looking at her just adds fresh salt to his wounds as he’s still unable to overcome his wife’s death. To make matters worse, he’s furious when he gets transferred to Kwon Joo’s Golden Time unit. He doesn’t understand her, like her, or want to take orders from her. But he’s stuck on the team for six months, so it looks like he’s going to have to make the best of a less than ideal situation. Could this be the position that gets Jin Hyuk back on his feet and returning back to his ace detective days? It’s hard to say at the moment, but if he learns to trust and believe in Kwon Joo, the hope for improvement is there.

As for Kwon Joo, I think Lee Ha Na is doing a stellar job. I was iffy on her taking on such a role as I remember her most notably from High School King of Savvy where she was such a meek, quiet, awkward and shy secretary. Here her character is very fierce, direct, and matter-of-fact. She acts on her gut instinct and believes in her abilities. But she seems like such a lonely character that it makes me sad. Outside of work, who does she have?
~*~

I’m very curious to see how Jin Hyuk and Kwon Joo will co-exist together. Jin Hyuk hates that this woman is his superior. Obviously, listening to her story would have likely cleared up some misunderstandings, but like their first meeting in the call center, Kwon Joo knows that Jin Hyuk’s not going to listen to her. Her words will fall on deaf ears, so it’s pointless for her to explain while he’s still so enraged and unwilling to hear her out.
Two episodes in and that dynamic hasn’t changed. Here’s to hoping they will learn to work well together and that Jin Hyuk will learn the truth and cut Kwon Joo some slack.

All in all, I like what I see so far. Police procedural’s aren’t a favorite of mine, and this drama wasn’t my first choice, but I’m liking the characters and the main story for the most part. Some parts are a bit too brutal and graphic for me, so I have my fair share of reservations as I dive into the rest of the episodes. I don’t know much about police and emergency procedures in South Korea, so I can’t really speak on the accuracy of Voice. I will say that the acting is pretty good across the board. The music adds to the darker ambiance of the show as well.

I’ll keep watching as I’m anxious to see how things unfold, but this wasn’t nearly as “meh” as I thought it was going to be.

Leave a Reply

