Happy New Year!

13-1

Annyeong friends and readers! Happy 2017 wherever you are in the world!

We’re 8 days into the new year and I couldn’t be more pumped. I have high hopes to do a lot with ISWAKD this year. As I haven’t quite worked out all of my goals and resolutions for 2017, I do have some things in mind. But before I start on a new year and everything I hope to bring to this blog, I must apologize for my lack of posting here lately.

My computer has been crashing constantly for months. It’s how I watch dramas, do graphic design (such as blog headers, screen cap editing, etc), game, and blog. At the time I bought this PC, it was just meant to be temporary solution after my previous PC had to be retired unexpectedly. As things have been tougher than I was expecting financially, I’ve been making the best of a crappy, unstable PC. Most of my drama watching is either on my Kindle Fire or my mobile phone, which aren’t the best platforms to use when you want to screen cap and blog. Thankfully, it’s a new year and I’m full of positivity and hope. Please hang in there. I’m not going anywhere – I promise!

Some goals of 2017:

  1. A new, media powerhouse PC. As tax return season is nearly upon us here in the US, I’m hoping to use my refund to buy a quality PC built for my needs. I’ve been looking at the XPS 8910 Desktop Special Edition by Dell, but I’m still shopping around until I come to a decision. Any suggestions are welcome.
  2. I’m taking my learning of Korean much more serious this year. I hope to be able to at least understand and be able to speak conversational Korean. Oh, and I slowly hope to learn the alphabet and be able to read Korean characters. I know this was likely take years at the very least, but I want to start on that this year.
  3. Upgrading my internet. I’ve been using DSL internet since 2003. I despise our only cable internet service in my area, so I’ve been putting off the transition for as long as possible. I’d rather deal with slower speeds and better customer service than great speeds and terrible customer service. But as it’s becoming harder and harder to stream video in HD and I’m paying for services like Netflix, Amazon Prime, Drama Fever, and Viki, it seems like a major waste to not be able to get my money’s worth in terms of quality.
  4. New segments for the blog. I’ve never done podcasts before, but I’d love to start introducing small segments to this blog sometime this year. I’m not 100% sold on this idea yet, but I’m trying to see if I can make it work. This will be waiting until I upgrade my PC and internet. Then, I’ll be considering this option. Any thoughts? Would this interest anyone?

Keep an eye on the blog. I plan to post some dramas I’m looking forward to in 2017, which will hopefully be this week or next week. (Fingers crossed my PC doesn’t crash too much!)

P.S. I adore Kim Myung Soo (aka “L” from Infinite) ever since I first saw him in Shut Up Flower Boy Band back in 2014. He was my first dose of second lead syndrome (My Loveable Girl. Let’s not talk about that drama though! So much rage!) and I thought his smiling face would be a great year to start off this blog.

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Those are great goals! Funny enough, reading Hangeul was the easiest part of learning Korean for me. Er, starting to learn Korean that is. XD I also want to take my Korean learning more seriously this year. I have Korean buddies I can actually chat with, so I should take advantage of that! It’s nice when you can read Korean, though, as that helps with understanding the words!

    Best of luck to you! Following 🙂

    Devon

Leave a Reply

