Song Jae Rim: Leading Man Material?

Image credit to kbs.co.kr

I have to admit — I’m liking Song Jae Rim a lot these days. While his character, Shi  Kyung, from Surplus Princess was intriguing, awkward, and adorable at times, I didn’t  really see, feel or understand the Song Jae Rim appeal. Now, I’m not going to say that  I’ve been converted to a super fan or anything remotely as extreme overnight, but as I’ve  been watching him on We Got Married, I can’t help but really, really, really adore and  admire this actor.

Whether it’s all part of a script, improv, or otherwise, I find him so adorable, charming,  quirky, cheesy, random, and thoughtful. I could probably include a myriad of other  descriptive adjectives, but I think I’ve gone far enough.

And he loves cats. Particularly, he loves his cat. And it tugs at my heartstrings as a fellow cat lover/owner. Seriously, I could just watch an entire episode of We Got  Married with SJR doing things for/interacting with his cat.

And, as far as We Got Married goes, he’s proven to me that he definitely has the appeal and talent to be leading man material. He’s so charming, random, funny and awkward. Regardless if it’s true of his personality or not, he sells it really well. And I do believe he has  the acting chops and talent for a leading role. Hopefully, this will be a departure from the Shi Kyung character as I’d love to see more range from this actor.

All of these things combine to bring good news. Song Jae Rim snagged the leading role in upcoming drama Unkind Women. The big question: what’s this new drama about? Or maybe you’d rather hear about the female lead? Lee Hana. You might remember her as the dorky, awkward Soo Young from King of High School. I had a love-hate relationship with this character on King of High School, so I’m looking forward to a bolder, more extroverted role from her this time around.

From what I’ve gathered from the internet and official website about this series, it seems the premise is revolving around three generations of hot-headed women that live together. So, it will be especially interesting to see how SJR’s character fits in.

I just hope the script-writing and his character helps exhibit this guy’s talent — because he appears to have plenty of it. At the very least, Unkind Women is a family drama scheduled for 24 episodes. So, as long as this drama does well, it means we’ve all got 24 episodes to sit back and enjoy with SJR as the lead. Not bad either way, right?

Here’s what you need to know:

Unkind Women (aka Unkind Ladies, Bad Women) is scheduled to broadcast on KBS2 on February 25th at 10:00 PM. It will air an episode every Wednesday and Thursday, which is great for those of us that cannot bear one episode a week.

Oh, k-dramas, how you’ve spoiled me with two episodes in one week. How could I possibly accept anything less than that?

Anyone else care to chime in? What do you think of Song Jae Rim? If you’re more familiar with his work than I am (I’ve only seen him in Flower Boy Ramyun Shop, Surplus Princess, and We Got Married), do you think he has the abilities to hit a home run with his first leading role in a drama?

Leave a Reply

