10 Reasons Why You Should Be Watching Misaeng

Disclaimer: some of the reasons I’ve listed in the link below may contain spoilery information. Please keep that in mind before you carry on.

1. If the romance, mushy-gushy stuff isn’t your forte (or you’re in need of a change), Misaeng might be up your alley because it is centered on the office work life of twenty-seven-year-old Jang Geu Rae.

2. This drama isn’t rainbows and sunshine, either. It takes a rather sad, depressing turn as Jang Geu Rae is a rather timid young man who lacks a lot of skills and confidence. He is really good at the game of Go. So, that’s something. And it’s not all darkness and misery. There are lighter moments to help brighten the show.

3. Want a taste of what Korean office life is like? While I can’t vouch for the authenticity, it certainly feels real, unbiased, and sincere.

4. Do you like a slow burn? (And I’m not talking about your favorite romantic coupling’s journey together.) I am talking about Jang Geu Rae’s highs and lows of working a job that he literally knows nothing about. There’s plenty of animosity between him and his co-workers. Will he be able to prove his worth?

5. The cast is fantastic. They really do a great job at selling their characters. I am especially impressed with the actor who plays Chief Oh. If you’re looking for layered characters, this is a good place to start.

6. Anyone who has ever started a new job or your first job will know that it’s not an easy transition. You start out anxious and nervous — unsure what to expect. You don’t know anyone. You don’t know what you should or shouldn’t be doing, and sometimes you feel silly and useless having to ask. As I’ve recently started another job, I find that this series is very realistic and relatable — no matter what country you’re from.

7. The interns in this series take me right back to high school with the cliques, pranks, and gossiping. And while that’s not necessary a selling point to start watching, it’s interesting to see how timid Geu Rae handles these situations.

8. The lead isn’t rich and he doesn’t have friends at his disposal when the going gets tough. I find him to be a refreshing change in pace from the usual leads I see in dramas.

9. Kang Ga Neul with glasses. I’m sure it’s not really a valid or enticing reason for the masses, but it worked for me.

10. And this quote: “You say I work hard? No. I’m here now because I didn’t work hard. I was abandoned because I didn’t work hard.”

Leave a Reply

