How To Choose A Drama?

When it comes to picking and choosing dramas, how do you go about it? Do you pick up a drama because it contains your favorite genres? Do you become enraptured by the summary and/or promotional images? Does the title grab your eye? Maybe you choose a drama because it stars some of your favorite actresses, actors, and/or idols? Or do you just take a leap of faith because you don’t know what else to watch? Was it a recommendation from your BFF and fellow k-drama lover?

No matter what the reasons are, if you’re an indecisive person like me, choosing a drama might be the hardest thing you do all day. Okay, so maybe that’s a slight exaggeration, but the process of picking the right k-drama can be emotionally taxing at times.

If I judged k-dramas based on summary alone — on whether or not I’d watch them — I probably wouldn’t have watched half as many as I already have. Sometimes it’s hard not to judge a drama by cover images, summaries, and negative-skewing reviews. I know I struggle with this from time to time. If it doesn’t sound or look good, it’s hard to find the pull to go ahead and watch. Sometimes the payoff is worth it. And sometimes it isn’t.

For me, I put quite a bit of thought into choosing a drama. There are so many important factors, but I think the most important factor for me is finding a drama that best fits with my mood. Then, I can work from there.

That said, as the wheels in my mind have been turning, I thought it would be fun to put together a poll to see where you, my readers, stand on this matter. How do you choose a drama?

 

Leave a Reply

