A Sad Day in K Drama Land

Unfortunately, it has been announced that Surplus Princess will cease it’s run at a meager 10 episodes. I’m as disappointed, frustrated, and devastated as the rest of you. Recapping this drama has been the highlight of my long weeks, and I dread the thought of the end being so near.

That said, since the show only has two more episodes to go, what would you guys like to see me recap in its place? Are there any upcoming dramas that have captured your attention? I would prefer to work with a series that hasn’t aired yet, but please feel free to sound off and share your thoughts in the comments. Of course, I’m not saying that I will recap another series, but I am thinking about it. I will finish recapping Surplus Princess; I’m not remotely ready to let go of that show just yet.

6 thoughts on “A Sad Day in K Drama Land

  1. I’ve been on the verge of tears all day because of the news (in fact, I have sobbed out loud w/o the tears a few times). It’s “just” a show but IT’S MADE ME SO HAPPY. I keep hoping to check the search results and see some sort of miracle that the show will get a proper ending.

    • I know exactly how you feel. I’m very picky about the shows I consider to recap, and it’s killing me that the one drama I really love is getting screwed over. I’m crossing my finger for some kind of miracle, too.

  2. Ah, I’m still in mourning over Surplus Princess. Hopefully today’s episode will give some hope for next week’s finale.

    Anyway, I don’t have any suggestions for a new kdrama, but I am trying to watch MBC’s Boarding House No. 24 right now since I saw the premise would sort of be similar to Surplus Princess. However, I’m not enjoying the first episode much. It has “funny” moments, but there’s an accompanying laugh track and it feels like a version of Surplus Princess’s humor gone wrong. I swear it’s even copied scenes from SP and other aspects of it. It’s too much of a coincidence for that not to be the case with a lot of those scenes.

    • I’m on the fence about the new k-dramas. I am watching My Lovely Girl (She’s So Lovable) and enjoying it so far, but it’s about the only one that’s held my interest. I’ve watched the trailer for Modern Farmer, and while it does look somewhat amusing, I’m still not sold on it, either. I have heard about Boarding House, but one of my least favorite things used in any comedy is the dreaded laugh track. I’m curious about these similarities with SP, so maybe I’ll just watch the first episode and see if I pick up on those same things.

      • If you can’t get through the first episode, the very end of the second episode is one of the similarities that reminded me of Surplus Princess the most, especially since the SP scene took place at the end of the second episode as well.

Leave a Reply

